The programmophobia: The fear to program.

The programmophobia: The fear to program.

Introduction

The title seems a bit unusual; I mean does anyone fear programming? is it a monster? Programming is not an actual monster, gigantic and multiheaded, yet the fact of not knowing how to program something after spending years of learning how to do it is horrible.

How does it begin?

As you may read on my previous blog about my battle to get through burnout (if you have read it, if not you may want to check it here is the link, you can also leave a comment and tell me your story with burnout). How I overcome that beast and be able to go back to sit next to my computer and programming for at least 2h per day. however, now a new fear is unlocked, how am I supposed to get back and sit tight to finish my task at once and avoid any distractions, times when an error pops up on my code, leaving me confused to, eventually, give up.

The process is a scenario that repeats itself every time. I get a new idea; I have time; I open my computer; I choose the technology that I will be using; I create the repo in GitHub; I set my repo – git init ; git - ; I open my editor; I try to set the environment; I write the first 5 lines (if I could get to that point); I look around and think that I need to sketch my ideas then I need a pen and notebook, but wait the specific notebook for that mission isn’t by my side, I need to grab it, here you go now I can sketch my ideas, then I realize the idea needs more work and time, but wait I feel hungry; I go eat; either I order or just cook; I go back to finish sketching; going back to coding; look at the code forgetting how am I supposed to write code, looking up for it, feeling guilty for that, but anyway paste it, second one forget it too, looking and going back to paste it, feeling more guilt, making a decision that I need to go and study that technology more and more; Oops! an error pop-up, looking for a solution, giving up, turning off everything, going back to it after a while, cloning again the project, setting up everything, getting new errors, getting enough, just to turn off everything again.

Repeating the same loop over and over.

This is an everytime scenario, whenever I want to start coding after my burnout; unless, it is a project with a deadline, and I must finish it.

What did I learn?

Remember, when you are trying to code a simple, big or even small problem, draw a roadmap; what do you have? – maybe an attribute – what do you need? And where do you wanna get? Or which result do you want to achieve? For example: I have to multiply the attribute Score by 10.

What do I have? Variable Score.

What do I need? Multiply it by 10 which is * 10.

What is my result? (Score = 8) * 10 = 80.

The more you simplified a task assigned, the more comprehension you would have about it, the easier it gets when you try to solve it.

These questions are examples, it depends on your problem and how you want to study it/simplified it.

conclusion

I realized later that, it’s okay to look for a part of the code even the whole code (nah I’m kidding lol), the deal is to understand and try to customize it, for the specific result you want.

I took this as a rule, whether you are trying to learn a new technology or you still struggling with the same one, learn the basics, learn the algorithm and how to think to solve the problem cause the syntax always would change, even in a newer version of the same technology.